“You Can Handle Me” (2017)- CRIT SHOW 2

 

I feel like I kind of cheated for this crit show. I designed this specifically for the bargehouse show and I put it into the crit show just before bargehouse. It did not really work in the space, peoples reactions upon realising its design were interesting although it looked a lot more like a prop in the studio that it was intended. Hopefully when I take it to bargehouse this will change as it is made to fit inside an existing doorway.  The stained wood works alot better than just leaving the timber untreated and contrasts with the pristine white of the door. I designed the step so it was the size of your average door step. the handle was at the standard height , everything was standardized. I chose the handles as apparently it was the most common handle in peoples home. The step up is unfortunate and if I was to continue making freestanding doors in the studio I would bolt the frame to the floor, which is possible in the studio not bargehouse.

I am toying with the idea of adding a ‘welcome’ mat to encourage people to interact although its presence in an actual doorway might be enough to encourage people. I will have to see when it is installed.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

