Crit show 3 (my thoughts):

Before making this badminton set, I tested how big I needed to make the net in order for it to represent, or become an icon. Simply by marking out areas on the floor using a tape measure and masking tape. I started with the scale of a toy badminton set one which you would put up in your garden, but even that seemed unnecessarily big to create this representation. In the end I found I could reduce the length of the net and as a result the length of the court to 1/3 the original length. In reducing the length, I also found it necessary to reduce the width of the net so it did not look disproportionate. However, I found the height had to be a constant even at the regulation hight of 5ft people still remarked on it looking too low. The size became rather domestic.

DSC_0408

I was very pleased with this exhibition piece, putting aside the content and context of the work, I was very happy with the ambitious scale, and finish of the work. I liked how it looked in the space it dominated, it cried out to be played. Things I was worried about like achieving enough tension in the wire and drilling into the floor worked really well thanks to constant communication with John, Kelly and Jonathan Parsons regarding the design. The tape contrasted well with the chrome paperclips and stands, alluding to danger, the danger that could result from playing the game. I chose this tape over the traditional black or blue tape for this reason but also developing a point Paul made about the work being make do, and distopian. The yellow tape fit better as if it could be found at the site of a collapse or bomb. The paperclips actually looked like a badminton net. Fooling the eye until closer inspection. As a result at first glance it appeared someone had just installed a garden badminton set into the space. This was what I was going for, I wanted to fool you, engage you with this semi functional set up.

Where I was disappointed with the response I got from the tutors, suggesting the work being comical and not really holding any other interest past the comical effect of a badminton net in the space, I do agree. These are responses that would have been achieved through simply installing an actual badminton set into the space, the addition of the paperclips becomes lost in this joke. By making the work interactive the point about giving function and purpose to the humble object of the paperclip is lost. It was a good idea and I am glad that I did it, I got to test out scale, and work in the workshops. I find that the workshop environment is so much more productive than the studio, I found I worked much quicker.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

